Showing posts from March, 2017

Prime Ministers of Jamaica by Recaldo Gilpin

Prime Ministers of Jamaica

Pre-1494 The Arawak and Taíno indigenous people, originating in South America, settled on the island between 4000 and 1000 BC. When Christopher Columbus arrived in 1494, there were more than 200 villages ruled by caciques (chiefs of villages). The south coast of Jamaica was the most populated, especially around the area now known as Old Harbour.The Taino still inhabited Jamaica when the English took control of the island in 1655.
Spanish rule (1509–1655) Christopher Columbus claimed Jamaica for Spain after landing there in 1494. The capital was moved to Spanish Town, then called St. Jago de la Vega, around 1534 (at present-day St. Catherine).  Jamaica had British rule from 1655–1962 and gain Independence in 1962.
Jamaica has traditionally had a two-party system, with power often alternating between the People's National Party (PNP) and Jamaica Labour Party (JLP). The party with current administrative and legislative power is the Jamaica Labour Party, with a o…